Chennai vs Mumbai Match Preview – Indian T20 League 2020

Chennai vs Mumbai Match Preview  – Indian T20 League 2020

In the next match of the Indian T20 league, the lowest team in the points table Chennai will face one of the top teams in the tournament so far Mumbai. The match is scheduled to be  played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on 23rd October 2020. Given the current scenario Chennai is definitely going to have a hard time beating the defending champions. Chennai who has played 10 matches so far in the league has been able to win just three matches. With seven defeats in the league it sits on the bottom of the points table. While on the other side Mumbai has been doing great until recently when for the first time in the history of cricket, a dual super over took place. Mumbai in its previous match lost one of the most exciting matches ever against thoroughly underestimated Indian T20 league Punjab. 


Mumbai made a decent score of 176 runs in response to which Punjab leveled the score. In the first super over Punjab tied the score of 5 runs then again in the 2nd super over Punjab beat Mumbai with the help of Gayle’s sixer and Mayank Agarwal’s brilliant fours. Mumbai lost that game and with that its position has been dropped from no.1 to No.3. Mumbai has played Nine matches out of which it has won Six games. 


While on the other hand Chennai in its last match, was somehow crawled to the score of 125 runs which Rajasthan in response made it with an ease. Chennai has a terrifying T20 season this year. The team’s batsmen, bowlers and even the game strategy have seemed to work for them. Coming up next they are going to face one of the strongest teams in the ongoing tournament. Chennai would need to perform extraordinarily to win the game. For more updates, keep reading.


Head to Head 

Total: 29 games

Chennai: 12

Mumbai: 17


This year the two teams have one encounter so far in which  Chennai surprisingly won. However, if we talk about the last five matches, then Mumbai sure has an upper hand with 4 wins. 



MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ambati Rayadu, KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Narayan Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Kedar Jadhav, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Monu Kumar, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, Piyush Chawla, Josh Hazelwood, R Sai Kishore



Rohit Sharma (c), Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Ankul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Quinton de Kock (wk), Rahul Chahar, Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult, Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Saurabh Tiwary, Mohsin Khan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai Singh, James Pattinson


Probable Playing XI (NOT CONFIRMED)

Captain Choice

Quinton de Kock: He has made 322 runs in Nine matches with a strike rate 146.36 and an average of 40.25 which also includes Four terrific half centuries. 

Jasprit Bumrah: Bumrah is one of the best bowlers of the decade and is currently the 4th highest wicket taker in the tournament with 15 wickets in 9 matches with an economy rate of 7.44.


Faf du Plessis: One of the most consistent performers of the Indian T20 League, Du Plessis has scored 375 runs in 10 matches so far and is currently the 3rd highest scorer of the tournament.  

Create your fantasy cricket team in Indian T20 League. Download Gamtoss Fantasy Cricket App now.

100* Joining Bonus & 100* Referral Bonus Download Android APP Download on the APP Store